Skip to main content
Keith Fletcher Awards 2022-23


AIM Qualifications and Assessment Group is thrilled to announce its new stewardship of the renowned Keith Fletcher Awards an annual celebration that has long been synonymous with honouring the outstanding achievements of Access to HE students.

Access to Higher Education (HE)

Access to HE diplomas, often referred to as Access courses or Access to Higher Education courses, are specialised qualifications designed for individuals who want to pursue higher education but do not have the traditional qualifications, such as A-levels, required for direct entry into university or college programs. These diplomas are a popular route for mature learners or those who have been out of education for some time and wish to return to study at a higher level. Every year these awards are presented to students who have demonstrated Outstanding Academic Achievement or Outstanding Commitment to Study.

Keith Fletcher Awards

Keith Fletcher worked for many years in the South West of England and was a great supporter and enthusiast of Access to HE. In memory of Keith’s commitment several AVAs agreed to award prizes to students drawn from across the regions. The Awards are now in their 12th year and are supported by all 9 AVAs across England and Wales.

AVAs like AIM Qualifications and Assessment develop, approve and monitor Access to HE courses. QAA, a regulatory body, licenses AVAs to award the Access to HE Diplomas to successful students. AVAs develop, approve and monitor Access to HE courses, and work with course providers.


Participating AVA regions are invited to nominate Access students on courses in the current academic year (ie 2022-23) for the two prize categories as outlined below. Information about the winners and runners up will form part of the AVA’s collective activities to promote the Access to HE Diploma both regionally and nationally.

We are asking AVAs to contact their providers for nominations for this year’s awards.


The catagories available for nominations are:


Applications have now closed and AIM will select two nominees to go forward to the national campetition. 

Judging for the national competition will take place between 4 December 2023 and 12 January 2024. To find out more about the judging process and rules around nominations, click here.

Regional and national promotion of the prize winners can take place after the processing of the judges’ results.

Winners will be announced week commencing 22 January 2024.

The awards’ presentation will be held at on Wednesday the 6 March  at the Houses of Parliament.